Preview of Coming Attractions

I recently (and finally) purchased a GoPro HD video camera. The camera’s been on my list of things I’ve wanted to buy for about a year now. I just hadn’t gotten around to pulling the trigger until I discovered it was available at REI and I could combine my 20% off coupon and yearly dividend, which resulted in a sizable discount. So I picked it up and ordered a 16GB SD card. (Note: Photo is not of my hand, freaky thumb, foreign coin, or camera… I was just too lazy to take my own photo.)

I have a few filming ideas in mind (mostly cycling-related), but initially I wanted to take it out for a test run. What better place (or controlled environment) than good ‘ol Hains Point. I was heading down for a time trial workout anyhow so I brought along the GoPro. I placed the camera in different locations on the bike and did laps at speed, filming different perspectives. For example, I placed the camera on the stem, forward facing, and did a lap or two. Then I placed it out near the brake lever (facing forward, then facing rearward) and pounded out a few more laps. I switched camera locations a couple more times and did a few more laps. I ended up doing 8 or 9 laps at speed and capturing quite a bit of video.

Pulling everything together using iMovie 09 has been (as Sir Alex Pline predicted) a time suck. I’ve put together a pretty coherent series of clips but now I need to add a soundtrack and do some additional tweaking. At any rate, here’s a 22 second Vimeo preview clip (from the cutting room floor and poor quality because I haven’t decided whether I want to invest in Vimeo’s HD fee. . . still figuring this stuff out).

I’ve been pretty impressed with the image quality (outside Vimeo) and the ease of use of the GoPro HD. Figuring out iMovie 09 cold has been another thing though (and trying to synch up a soundtrack has been a little frustrating). I think I might want to eventually move to Final Cut Express at some point but for now I’m just trying to figure out iMovie 09. Stay tuned for more stuff.

1 Response to “Preview of Coming Attractions”


  1. 1 Kyle April 29, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Dana, I am going to keep a look out at races for that camera stashed in the porta-johns.


Leave a Reply

